top of page

Review: Home

Introduction

Hey folks, guess what? January just so happened to be long enough that I got FIVE Mondays in a month. And lucky thing, too, considering the schedule I wanted. 😉 However, January has also been quite the busy 31 days, so I’m so so so so sorry Grace I’m going to have to put off reviewing Prisoner at Heart for ANOTHER month. Yes, yes, I know, I’m horrible with deadlines and reading books when they’re on my laptop XD. So plan on that review for February, and if I don’t review it, all of you need to unsubscribe so I can tell myself there’s consequences. 😛

“So, if you’re going back on your word and not doing Prisoner of Heart,” you say, “what are you going to review? Do you know how many books/movies have the title of Home, for crying out loud?!”

Yes. Yes I do have a good idea. A lot. But this is an animated movie that I happened to have the stuff written down to review, so I snatched it.

*grin* Lo and behold, folks:

Home by Dreamworks

(As a warning, there might maybe be spoilers in here. So beware. I’ll make sure the spoilers are alerted, but just sayin’.😉)

Home isn’t THAT bad of a movie – at least not in the gross content or wrong messages or concerning motives kind of way. But it isn’t that good of a movie either, as the sad lack of notes I have confirm. There wasn’t much to it either than pure entertainment. Want to see what I mean? Keep reading.

Content

Pros:

  1. Language–none at all, at least that I saw.

  2. Magic/witchcraft–zip, zilch, nada. *applauds*

  3. Drinking/smoking/drugs–again, none that I saw.

  4. Religion–nothing at all that I noticed.

Cons:

  1. Bathroom humor–y’all know my opinion on this: not especially funny, but not offensive to me either as long as it doesn’t get too graphic. 😉

  2. Violence–extremely mild violence – few peeps (or Boovs) get whacked from time to time, a Boov-eating monster follows them around, etc.

  3. Other negative elements–when the Boov come to earth, they steal all of the humans’ stuff, abduct the humans, and relocate them. The Boov don’t have a problem with this, but the humans obviously do. The issue is addressed and seen as bad.

Neutral:

  1. Sexual stuff–twice during the movie we see a male Boov (a kind of alien) wearing a bra on his head and showered in glitter and makeup and wearing pink. Once it’s a harmless prank, but the next time he’s still in that up-do and dancing around. Not sure if this is a subtle prod at homosexuality or just the writers trying to do something funny. Judge for yourself. 😉

Messages

Pros:

  1. The friendship between Tip and Oh is sweet, in some ways. They trust each other, despite the fact that they both kidnap the other or betray the other at least once. They work together well and show what friendships should look like.

  2. Familial loyalty is also shown. I mean, Tip’s whole purpose in the movie is to find her mom. There’s never any mention of her father, which is… interesting, but it’s clear that Tip loves her mama and her mama loves Tip. ❤ (SPOILER ALERT!!) And, in the end, that’s reflected by the parental figure (father this time) seeking out his children across the whole universe – the entire generation the Boov accidentally stole. (SPOILER END!!)

  3. “The internet does not lie.” Or so Oh thinks. Later on we find out that, yes, actually, the internet does lie.

  4. There’s also a “nobody’s perfect” theme. Oh’s many mistakes lead up to him feeling like a failure, even being threatened with exile. But he learns that everyone makes mistakes, and the best thing you can do is learn from them, ask forgiveness, and move on with life.

Cons:

  1. None that I saw. Go figure.

Morals

Pros:

  1. Loyalty–most of the characters show loyalty in one way or another. Tip is loyal to her mother and eventually Oh, Oh is loyal to the Boov and eventually Tip, the Gorg is loyal to its kin, etc. etc.

  2. Courage–ok, it’s gotta take some guts to pack up the car you’re not legally allowed to drive and try and find your mother who could be anywhere in the world – or out of it. Tip’s brave like that. But Oh is brave too. (SPOILER END!!) He’s a two-foot alien approaching a space ship that seems larger than the state of New York. He’s willing to set right the wrongs that were done to the Gorg no matter the cost. And that includes giving up his own life. (SPOILER END!!)

Cons:

  1. Betrayal–yeah yeah, I know this seems quite contradictory to the whole “loyalty” moral, but it is in there. Oh lies to Tip (though it’s quite obvious) and tries to trick her. Tip isn’t the most loyal human either, at least not at first, though both she and Oh learn to stick together in the end.

Other Stuff

Pros:

The visuals for this movie are awesome, and there’s certainly some creativity behind it. The plot is well-rounded and the characters are, for the most part, 3D.

Cons:

Annoyance. Sheesh, I get annoyed with this movie. The Boovs talk like Doug from Up, which is fine when it’s just a few times and just for one character who isn’t a main character. But when the character you follow around talks like this CONSTANTLY, and all the Boovs around him talk like this, it gets on your nerves. Or maybe just mine. But still.

Wrap Up

Did you catch it? There’s not much to this movie, either good or bad. Of course I appreciate that there’s really nothing horrible in here, but it’s also kinda sad for me to see the lack of good. This movie has the potential to be an impactful story, I think, but the writers fell short. And that’s a disappointment.

Anywho, that’s all the brain juice I have left. XD What do y’all think? Have you seen Home? Did you think it was good? Did I miss something, or put something in here that you don’t think was actually in the movie? Does it have potential? Let me know in the comments!

And, as always, take courage, pursue God, and smile while you still have teeth!! 😀

~Joelle

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Kommentare


bottom of page