top of page

Words for the Weary Writer (part 2)



Last week, I published a post on the why behind sticking with your writing, and why creativity in general is a beautiful thing that shouldn't be easily cast aside. There are many other aspects of creation that are beautiful that I could talk about - like how beautiful the actual finished product is, or the beautiful process of creating in and of itself. But that article was long enough, so I’ll leave it at that and get to the practical.


Today I want to look at the how: how do you deal with burnout, discouragement, and lack of inspiration? What are some practical steps to finding that spark again? Is it okay to quit?


Sure, creation is beautiful, but... I 'm still worn out

While the reality is that, yes, creation is gorgeous in all of its struggles... sometimes it doesn't feel that way. Sometimes it takes everything in you just to type out a hundred measly words that you know you'll delete the next day anyway, or to draw that one sketch over and over again that just isn't working out. That's exhausting.


So what do you do when your creative wells have run dry and creation becomes a chore? What do you do when you stop loving it? What do you do when you want to give up?


I have a couple steps that have helped me return to the joy of creation.


1. Get to the root problem, not just the symptoms

Most of the time, my weariness comes from my own desire to do something else. My heart rebels against the idea of sitting down and plodding through something boring, or hard, or seemingly useless. I dread my laptop. It's then that I have to fix the heart - and that means a mindset reset. I have to go back to the basics and ponder what it means to "love" something. Jesus told us that the greatest commandment ever is to love the Lord our God with all our hearts, minds, souls, and strengths. Love isn't just an emotion. Yes, it's a feeling sometimes... but it's also a mindset. It's a will. It's a physical action. As DC Talk sings, "Love is a verb."


Whether or not you still feel joy, pleasure, excitement, etc. while writing is not the point. The point is that you are willing to fight for it, in steeling yourself against your emotions or taking your thoughts captive or even just sitting down at your laptop to pound out those 100 measly words because it's worth it.


Other times my trouble comes from other aspects of myself: my mind ("This is pointless"), my will ("I don't have the desire/energy/etc"), or my body ("I'm too tired"). Each of those can show up in different ways or bleed into one another, and each have a different solution. But learning to recognize the problem is the first step.


So take some time to sit and explore yourself. Find out where your distaste for creativity is coming from - your heart, your mind, your will, your body? Once you find the source, you can evaluate the best way to fix it.


2. Time to fight it

If creation is actually your thing and you want to get back to it, then it's time to roll up your sleeves and do the hard work of fighting yourself.


Congrats, you've reached one of the hardest things you'll ever have to learn and practice. *round of applause*


I already gave you a teaser of what I do when my heart is the issue - when my emotions are missing and I want them back: I ignore it. XP Now maybe this isn't the best way to approach this problem, and it definitely isn't the only way. But I have found that the more I let my emotions decide what I will or won't do, the less productive I am. The heart is deceitful. You can't trust your emotions to take you anywhere other than to sinful desires down the road. Keep your priorities in mind and your heart will learn to obey after a while.


But what about when your mind is the problem? When you have those doubts about whether or not creation is worth it? When you can't think past the voices that whisper that you're failing?


Depending on your exact situation, there's a few routes you could take. I find it helpful to learn other people's stories: learn that Jane Austen kept Pride & Prejudice hidden in a drawer for months on end before she finally took the steps to publish it; learn that Tolkien took 10+ years on LOTR and even C.S. Lewis began to wonder if he'd ever be done perfecting and actually publish; learn that there are other young authors out there struggling with my exact thoughts and talk to them about it, encouraging one another; even just looking at my own life and saying, "Stories, even made-up stories, have changed my life. This is worth it."


And your will? That may be the hardest. If you've given up on your art and there's nothing left that wants to fight for it, that's a serious problem. Sometimes that's an indicator that your art is a hobby and should stay that way - it's not something to pursue. But I've found that if I take a step back from my art, if I do give up for a week or so, my will returns. Sometimes you honestly just need a break. Step away and wait for the hunger to flare up again.


Something to be aware of is if your will is gone or if it has shifted. I'm seriously pursuing writing because, as the years have gone by, I've noticed that when my will to create dies, there's very little else I have a will for. I have no desire or consideration for another career. Nothing. I feel dead. Others find that when their will for writing leaves, it goes to something else that has been prodding them off and on for years. Often those things are the ones you will want to pursue. If you constantly return to one thing, that's generally a sign that you're very invested in it. XD


So is it okay to quit your creative career? Absolutely. If God is calling you to something else, you better get over there and start doing that thing instead of lingering on something that He's already said no to. But if He is prodding you to create, then it's part of your job as a Christian to put in the work and stick with it until either He calls you somewhere else or you die. The hard things are often the most rewarding things. Hold on to hope.


Lastly, what about your body? What about when it says you shouldn't be writing?


Listen up. XD Your body gives you cues for a reason. If you're exhausted, you need to accept that and take a break. Go create something fun, or stop creating at all. Sleep in, or go to bed early. Double-check your water and food intakes. You'd be surprised how much your physical condition affects your abilities. Even if you just stop writing for a half a day and go take a walk to clear your head, it can do wonders. And if you're still against the idea of resting, let me remind you that a body that is taken care of will be more productive than a half-asleep zombie who can't even remember how to spell simple words. ;)


Plus, as one more argument for this, remember that you are a steward of God. Your body was given to you as a gift, a temple for God to indwell. Which means it's your job to see that it's taken care of properly.


3. Some more suggestions

That's a lot of info to take in all at once, so allow me to present you with a nice, clear, concise list of things you could do to help you find joy in creation again. (Note: most of these are geared towards writers. The basic concepts still apply, though.)


  • Drop your current project and work on another one. Pursue a bunny trail for a little bit and just have fun

  • Push through, looking to your goal for motivation

  • Find some writing prompts and use your characters from your current WIP in there

  • Stick your charries in a random situation with other peoples' charries, or charries from another WIP, and let them interact

  • Journal as your charries

  • Journal (as yourself) some prompts from online

  • Go on a walk

  • FANFICTION

  • Let yourself daydream

  • Enjoy others' art

  • Spend some time playing (creating charrie collages, maps, playlists, basically anything fun)

  • Talk to others about your art, or your struggles

  • Find other people to interview your characters

  • Find things that energize you and go do them

  • Find the things that drain your energy and avoid them right before creating

  • Take time to laugh, sing, play games... just enjoy life

  • Spend time with God (surprisingly helpful)

  • Spend time with others talking about God, praying together, etc.

  • Try something new (run a race, cook a new food, rearrange your room, etc.)

  • Switch up your habits and try creating in a new place or new time, or with a different medium (different pencils, another instrument, using a notebook instead of a laptop, etc.)

  • Find other like-minded artists and brainstorm together

  • Find your why as an artist and get pumped about it

  • Try creating after you've eaten, or while you eat. Your brain works surprisingly better when it's not hungry


You can do this

Hopefully that helped, at least a little. *offers you your favorite drink* It's hard to be creatively exhausted. Really hard. But you, my friend, are more than just an artist. Your worth is not measured by your art. Sure, it's a beautiful part of you, but... if art is hard that doesn't mean you're a failure, or worthless, or somehow going against God's plan. If you honestly seek Him and His will, He'll guide you down the best path. Remember, you're one of His characters, and He's the best Author to have ever existed. He doesn't make mistakes. You can't see what's going on now, but He does. There is more to come, both good and bad, but all of it will culminate in yet another fantastic story. This isn't the end. *gives you adorable floofy puppy* Now get out of here, go do some art stuff, and let God use you to change the world. ;)


To summarize that entire paragraph: with God, YOU GOT THIS.


Until next time,

Take courage, seek God, and smile while you still have teeth!! XP

-Joelle

15 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page