top of page
joellestoneauthor

Story Day - Drip



For the record, I'm slightly claustrophobic and really hate not being able to see the sky. Also knowing I'm trapped usually freaks me out. So I deserve a medal for how calm my characters are in this situation. XP


The Prompt

This was the seventh day of Inktober. The prompt was drip.




The Story

Plink! Plink! Plink! 


Haydin groaned loud enough to wake the dead and clapped his hands over his ears. “That noise is going to drive me nuts.”


“You’re already nuts.” Lexie laughed, the sound bouncing off the stone walls around them and drowning out the incessant dripping for a moment.


Haydin looked up at her and made a face. “Where’s Kaleb? He should have been back by now.”


“I’m sure he’s fine.”


“He’s probably being an idiot. Going swimming in the dark or somethin’.”


“Wow, your faith in him is inspiring.”


Haydin flicked his wrist, sending a pebble skipping across the pool in front of them. It disappeared with a hollow splash. “I’ve been his friend for how many years now? He’s done a lot of stupid stuff, and usually I’m the one that pulls him out. ‘Cept I’m with you and he went off by himself.”


Lexie rolled her eyes and tossed him another pebble. “He’ll be fine.


A grunt was her only response, followed by the pebble splashing across the water. When it sank, the only sound was that incessant plink! Plink! Plink!


Haydin groaned again. 


“For the record, that was the best thing I’ve done for a long time.”


Lexie twisted on the sand to see Kaleb duck through an opening behind them, grinning.


Haydin threw another pebble at his best friend’s head. “And one of the stupidest. This isn’t a tourist cave, idiot. It’s 100% natural. And natural caves aren’t really the safest.”


“Well, yeah, but we need to find a way out and I’m faster than both of you. Plus I have more luck.” He winked at Lexie and she smirked back, both of them enjoying Haydin’s annoyance.


“What’d you find?” Lexie asked.


Kaleb’s face lost some of its grin. “That’s the fun part. The tunnel dead-ends down there.” He motioned back the way he had come. “And that rockslide at the front isn’t going anywhere and still looks pretty volatile, so it’s probably not the best idea to be around that area.”


Lexie’s eyes widened. “So… we’re trapped?”


“Yep.”


Plink! Plink! Plink!


Haydin groaned.


 

Yeah that's one of my fears right there. XP I'm not much of an underground person, though with the awful lot of coal miners in my family you think I'd be more okay with it. Oh well. XD


What's one of your worst nightmares? Have you ever been spelunking? Do you enjoy things like caves or are you more of an open-air person?


Until next time,

Take courage, pursue God, and smile while you still have teeth!! ^_^

-Joelle



Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page