top of page

Poetry

Ok, y’all, I have a treat for you today. I’m on this writing thingamabobber called the Young Writer’s Workshop, and a friend on there is SO. TALENTED. with her poetry. I asked if I could publish some on my blog, and she was like YES.

So.

Grab some tissues and settle down, because I was only going to post three but found five that I MUST share. 🙂 LET’S GIVE A ROUND OF APPLAUSE TO ADALINE HARPER!

A Dance of the Heavens



Thunder booms, calling out for his partner

Lightening answers his recurring offer

Drip, drop, splish, splash

Rain’s prancing percussion for a celestial dance

.

Thunder’s call echoes through the sky once more

Calling for his partner to once more grace the floor

Lightening answers, prancing through the night

Each dancer displaying their might

.

Reaching, grasping, but never quite catching

Thunder searches for the maiden his arms wish to hold

Laughing, teasing, always leaving

Lightening evades his grasp

.

Wind whistles through the night

A haunting melody that sparks fright

With one last crash, and one last boom

Thunder exits the ballroom

.

Lightening displays her striking beauty once more

Then she too leaves the floor

And I am left entranced

Seeing what became of this celestial dance

Laughter


Laughter, simple and sweet

Brightens my day, an uneasy feat

.

Laughter, spiteful and mocking

Is nearly enough to send me walking

.

Laughter, dark and brooding

Clouds my day, polluting

.

Laughter, gentle and kind

Offers a piece of joy for my troubled mind

.

Laughter, careless and free

Creates a carelessness in me

.

And laughter, authentic and true

Is the greatest gift I could give to you

Little Girl


I spin and I twirl

Dancing to a song only I know

With one last leap and one last whirl

I allow the smile on my face to grow

.

Play in the morning

Nap in the afternoon

Not realizing my own childlike innocence would soon be transforming

I danced about the room

.

The years passed

The twirling little girl is gone

She became lost in the vast

The vast world beyond

.

Lost is the innocent cheer

Lost is the playful grin

In its place is only fear

In its place is the insecurities within

.

Little girl where did you go?

Whatever happened to not wanting to grow?

What brought you so low?

Whatever happened to the joy you had so long ago?

.

That innocent laughter you lost

Don’t try and regain it

It is not worth the cost

Instead embrace your newfound maturity, commit

.

Growing up is not a curse

But a blessing

Staying young forever would be worse

For you would always be left guessing

.

Grow up, learn

And when the time approaches

That little innocent girl will return

Only this time that little girl will be yours to coach

Little Girl, Not So Little Anymore


Little girl, not so little anymore

Why do you sit here, crying on the floor?

Little girl, not so little anymore

Why do you sit here, crying on the floor?

.

Who hurt you?

Who stole your joy?

Who broke you?

Who made you a part of their ploy?

.

Little girl, not so little anymore

Why do you sit here, crying on the floor?

Little girl, not so little anymore

Why do you sit here, crying on the floor?

.

What happened to the innocent mischief in your eyes?

The playful grin on your lips? Whatever turned the laughter into cries?

Tell me, child, what is amiss?

.

Little girl, not so little anymore

Why do you sit here, crying on the floor?

Little girl, not so little anymore

Why do you sit here, crying on the floor?

.

The words that broke you

Are simply untrue

The actions that hurt you

Do not define you, it is true

.

Little girl, not so little anymore

Wipe your tears, get up off the floor

Little girl, not so little anymore

Wipe your tears, get up off the floor

.

Let those insecurities

Speak no more

Preserve your beautiful purity

And know your value is sure

And, in honor of Easter…

New Life


You left me here Lord

You left me here

You said you would never leave me

But You are gone, and I am not free

.

Daughter, have you so little faith?

Daughter, don’t you remember?

Remember what I said,

The words I wrote in red?

.

How could You let them do this?

Kill You like this?

I thought you came to conquer

But instead they conquered You

.

Daughter, daughter

Don’t you see?

I came not to conquer

But to let them conquer me .

Rabbi, Rabbi

Where did you go?

Why did you have

To leave me here alone?

.

Daughter, must I repeat myself?

All you have to do is die to self

Daughter, don’t you see?

I have set you free

.

Daughter, you think death conquered me

But it I Who conquered death so you could be free

Look again, Daughter, and see

That grave no longer holds me

.

Messiah

I see now

You indeed, have set me free

Messiah, forgive me

.

Faithful daughter, there is nothing to forgive

For this is the gift that I freely give

Your sins are cast as far as the east is from the west

And I have given new life to the heart within your chest

Wrap Up

SEE?! SEEEEE!?!? Adaline is SO. TALENTED, you guys – this is only a fraction of the amazing stuff she’s been posting. *more clapping and cheering and overall craziness*

Anywho. THANKS FOR LETTING ME POST THESE, ADALINE!!! ❤

Before I close, though, I’m going to remind you all that you only have about two weeks left to submit to the short story contest. 😉 So if you’re looking to submit, make sure you do so in time!

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentários


bottom of page