top of page

When Jax Interviews His Frienemies...


April 15th-April 18th, I had some people at my house. Specifically, three of the other four writers of Aqua Vitae. And because I need a blog post for today and they happened to be available, we decided to treat y'all to a character interview between our characters. And, since I'm the blog person and Jax is my character, we decided to have him interview the others.


He's chaotic. Which makes all of this chaotic. I apologize in advance. XD


(P.S. Jax is in bold, the others are labeled. ;))


The Interview

*taps mic* You got this thing on, Joelle? *bangs it when I don't respond in the next two seconds* *thunderous boom* Guess so. *claps hands and plops into seat* Let's get this over with. Apparently introductions have to come first, so hi. I'm Jax. Justin Avery, as the headmistress calls me. Daniel is that stiff stick-in-the-mud over there, Ivy's the girl with the crossed arms who looks ready to die of boredom, and Eve is the one looking at the ceiling completely lost in her head. *snaps fingers at Eve* Wake up, sleepyhead.


Eve: *jumps* I'm awake!


*ignores her* First question. *does a double take at his notes* Nope. Stupid question. Not asking that. *shreds my list and improvises* What are some of your irrational fears and why do you have them?

Jax - Joelle's character

Daniel: *snorts*


Eve: *sweet and innocent* I'm not irrational.


Ivy: *totally nonchalant* Vacuums.


Funny, Ivy, real funny.


Ivy: *glares*


Wait, really? *wicked smile* Good to know.


Eve: *sighs and shakes her head*


Moving on! How would you choose to die?


Ivy: *mutters* So this is how this is going to go, is it?


Eve: ...is there another option? Besides death?


Stop being such a scaredy cat. You're going to die; now pick how.


Eve: *pouts*


Ivy: *puts a hand on Eve's shoulder and sends more death glares at Jax, who completely ignores her*


Daniel: *hasn't said a word*


Mr. Grumpy Face. We need words from you today.


Daniel: *deadpan* How does jumping off a cliff sound?


I dunno - you tell me.


Ivy: *sends "Just cooperate" glare in Daniel's direction*


Daniel: *rolls his eyes and smirks* Saving someone I love.


Eve - Catherine's character

...


Ivy: *smirks back* Such a softie. I didn't know you had a heart.


Daniel: *playfully punches her shoulder*


*clears his throat* What's everyone's least favorite city to visit?


Eve: *instantly* Takawai.


...you live there.


Eve: *makes face* I know! It's awful.


Ivy: Anywhere with sand. I hate sand. It gets everywhere.


...you live in sand. What is wrong with you people?


Ivy: Just 'cause I live there doesn't mean I have to like it.


Daniel: All of them.


*glares* That's just because you hate people.


Daniel: I don't hate people. People hate me.


You're such a grump.


Eve: *thoughtful, completely disassociated and rather sweet* We all have sad lives...


*blinks at her* You all are... *shakes head* Messed up. So messed up.


Ivy: Says the person who blows people up with bombs.


Daniel: *cocks eyebrow at Jax at the same time*


Joelle: You guys really gotta focus or you're going to run out of space before you even get to five questions.


And who cares...?


Just move on. If you hadn't ripped up my questions we wouldn't be here.

Daniel - Rebekah's character

Your questions were stupid.


*rolls eyes and turns to other characters* Do any of you guys have questions?


Eve: *immediately perks up* Yes! What do colors smell like to you guys?


Daniel: *opens mouth and closes it* I'm sorry... what?


Ivy: *eyes widen*


Eve: *shrugs and smiles*


I think it's my job as your bodyguard to tell you that you are not normal.


Ivy: *sarcastic* What ever gave you that impression?


*matches her sarcasm* Oh, the algorithms of her eye color and the texture of her breath.


Ivy: *plants hands on the table, scoots chair back, stands up, and glares at Jax*


*smiles sweetly up at her and bats his eyelashes*


Ivy: *looks at Eve* Boys. I never understood them.


Daniel: *gently pulls Ivy back into her chair* Calm down. I would rather not be exploded today.


*smirks and pets his backpack*


Eve: Don't worry - he can't use them or he'll get in trouble with my uncle. He's not allowed to explode me.


*mutters* Unfortunately.


Ivy: *smirks back at Jax* Explode us? Maybe you should try.


*suspicious side-eye and opens his backpack* *all his bombs have googly eyes on them*


Ivy: *smirk grows, eyes playfully dancing*


*flicks eyes up at Ivy* ...you're so dead.

Ivy - Elle's character

Ivy: Try me. *gets up and leaves with a hairflip*


*growls, rezips his backpack, and stands up* *looks at Eve* Stay put. *slings backpack over his shoulder, grabs a knife, and follows Ivy out of the room*


Daniel: *looks at Eve* Would you like me to stop this murder?


Eve: *thoughtfully* Probably wise. Can I come with you?


Daniel: *stands up* Be my guest. *leaves with Eve*


Joelle: *comes inside* *sighs and shakes head at the empty chairs* I should have known that would end like this. Hm. *taps Jax's mic* Guys, moral of the story is don't make uncooperative characters. Especially ones with bombs. *turns off mic*


 

It's probably not nearly as entertaining to read as it was to write, but I figured y'all would enjoy a sneak peek into the characters. 'Cause I have a bit of an announcement.


We've decided to drop AV as a writing project. Co-writing is hard, and to be honest it's been a hard story to focus on. It's not completely gone, as Rebekah and I might pick it up at some point, but for now AV is off the WIP list. The characters will live on, though. XD


Do you enjoy charrie interviews? Is it better to interview the characters or have them interview each other? Who was your favorite character from this little glimpse? How many of you knew about AV before this post?


Until next time,

Take courage, pursue God, and smile while you still have teeth!!

-Joelle

43 views4 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page