top of page

WIP Update: where I'm at with ATOTB

Wow, it has been waaay too long since I've done this. *happy sigh* *flops into beanbag chair* Okay! Well, due to the most recent survey results, it appears that you guys are quite interested in my WIPs. Which means you now get to put up with me talking about them nonstop. ;P


Update


First! I am proud to say that I completed the first draft of ATOTB while the Penmaiden was being renovated. It clocked out at over 100K words and over 200 pages. *grins* I did some quick edits to fix up the stuff I knew needed work and it's now sitting in my drive while I wait for April to get here so I can start editing again with fresh eyes.


Save me I'm dyyyying I want to write it so baaaad *groans*


Alas, since I can't actually go write it, I have to cheat my own rules other ways. Like by talking about it with you guys. ;P


I Need Help!

Second, this post is more than a boring update. I need your feedback! Out of these five options (all would be focused on ATOTB), which would be your preferred post?

  1. Character interviews

  2. Sneak peeks

  3. Flashfictions set with the characters and world

  4. Author Q&A (ask me anything about the story, and I'll answer so long as it's not a massive spoiler XD)

  5. Gallery introduction (a photo dump)

  6. Something else I haven't thought of yet :P

Thank you in advance for answering!! You can comment your answer or use the contact form on the homepage to reply. :)


Meet Anah

Third, the fun stuff! Most of you already know about my three main characters: Myra, Gilead, and Irad. Each of the main characters in this story portray a different side of me. Myra is my lost-in-the-daydreams side; Gilead my slightly-reckless, committed-to-my-morals side; and Irad is my snarky, hurting side that is still seeking healing. But there was another aspect of me, the part that you guys see the most, that was not present in my story until recently.


She came out in the shape of Anah Amor, a bouncy extrovert with the strong desire to help everyone and everything even if they don't want her "assistance". She's a hoot to write and definitely the side of me that comes out whenever I'm around people, especially people I've never met. Judging from the test audiences' responses, she's either going to be a favorite character or a hated character, depending on the person. :P


So! Without further ado, may I present a sneak peek into the world of ATOTB in the form of the scene where Anah first meets Myra. I make no promises to answer questions later. XD

 

I probably would have laid [in the snow] until midnight, lost in my pity party, were it not for the bootsteps that were suddenly crunched towards me. Amalek, my mind warned, and I shoved myself to my feet, swaying unsteadily and wincing at the pain in my abdomen. I had to run back home. Get Ma. Or maybe Da was home by now…

“Are you ok?”

I spun towards the definitely-not-Amalek voice, lost my delicate balance, and toppled headfirst into a drift like a rag doll. The footsteps quickened, then hands were on my shoulders and waist and I was being heaved out of the drift and sat down and the snow was being brushed from my face and hair as I sputtered and tried to regain my sense of direction. Which way was up again?

“I don’t think she’s ok, Anah,” said a new voice. This one was male, unlike the first, and though the words were teasing, it was softly spoken.

“No,” the female voice agreed, and the hands left my shoulders. Snow crunched as I fluttered my eyelashes, trying to clear the snow from my vision as I stumbled to my feet again. “She must be lost if she’s trying to find a home in a snow drift.”

“I wasn’t,” I muttered, the snow clearing away enough for me to see the newcomers.

The first was a girl, Zoarish, with blond hair cropped to her shoulders held back with a daring red band around her forehead. She was dressed in bright colors - a loosely wrapped blue tunic over a white shirt and dark trousers, with another red band cinched around the waist. Her cloak fell around her shoulders in soft folds as she settled back, surveying me up and down with mock seriousness. “Then why did you fall into that drift?”

I sneaked a peek at the boy. His sandy brown hair was blown every-which-way by the wind, his dark eyes pointed thoughtfully at the sky. He had a typical Zoarish build, making me wonder if these two were siblings.

“I… you startled me,” I finally answered.

The girl’s serious mask broke, revealing a broad smile glinting in the moonlight. “She speaks! We thought you were dead at first. Then you bounced up like a cricket and proceeded to keel over into that drift like a drunken woman.” She laughed, but I winced at her words.

“Sorry.” The word came out more terse than I had intended. “I have things to do.” I turned on my heel and, shaking the remaining snow from my hair, took a few teetering steps toward my home.

Snow crunched. I shot a glance backward to see the girl, her hand on the boy’s arm, following me. “Where are you from?” she called after me. “What’s your name? We didn’t know anybody our age lived around here or we would have started making friends a lot sooner.”

I paused, back to them.

They caught up and I caught the flash of a grin out of the corner of my eye as the girl smiled at me, waiting for an answer.

I shook my head at my own foolishness. I had to find Irad and figure out why he left and bring Da or Resen with me this time. I didn’t have time for friends. No matter how much my heart suddenly ached for one.

“I’m Anah,” the girl offered when I didn’t respond nor walked away. “Anah Amor. This is my brother, Gilead.” She poked his shoulder. “He’s too quiet.”

I slowly turned back around to face them, my eyes falling on Gilead as he smiled and replied, “Are you sure you’re not too loud?”

Anah Amor (who is older in this picture than she actually is)

“Never!” The volume of Anah’s shout startled me. I fell back a step as she laughed and punched her brother’s shoulder in the friendly Zoarish way. “One can never be too loud!”

Sighing, I edged backward. Maybe I did want a

friend, but Gilead was right. Anah was way too loud.

“So!” Anah bounced closer. “Do you want us to guess?”

“Where I live?”

“No, silly, your name. Is it Sarai?”

I rolled my eyes. “That’s a Shilonite name.”

Anah elbowed Gilead and grinned. “She’s paying at least half attention.”

Some. I winced as I fingered my stomach. The bruise would rival a war wound.

War.

Da.

I have to get home.

The sun was already down, the moon drifting well above the horizon. It would be pitch dark before I reached my house. We’d have to find Irad again tomorrow.

I sighed. There’s no way we’re getting to Kadesh on time.

It’s useless.

“Oy.” Anah poked me, startling me out of my thoughts. “I can guess again, but we’ll be here all night if you keep this up.”

I blinked. “Sorry. I’m Myra.”

“A pleasure to meet you, Myra.” Anah reached out and punched my shoulder. I did the same, sluggishly. “You should come over to our house! We live down that way, not too long if you cut through the woods instead of taking the road.”

I shook my head. “I… need to go home.”

“Are you sure you’re alright?” Gilead’s question was probing, as if he already knew the answer but wanted to see if I would respond truthfully. “Your voice is strained.”

I cocked my head at him and forced a smile. “I’m fine.”

With a roll of her eyes, Anah linked her arm through mine. I tensed, not expecting this sudden, familiar touch from a complete stranger. “Come on. You need to warm up. Anyone with a half of a dead gamul’s smashed brain could tell you’re not fine.”

I frowned at the vivid picture. My muscles quaked and I suddenly became aware of my impressive shivers and how I couldn’t feel my nose, fingers, or toes. Even my heartbeat seemed weak. I swayed, dizzy.

“Easy there,” Anah said, squeezing my arm to steady me. “Wow, your lips are really blue. How long did you lay in the snow for?”

Blinking at the quick seriousness in her tone, I gave a small shrug and tried to pull away from her grasp. “I’m not sure.” My tongue felt clumsy in my mouth. I wasn’t even sure the words came out right.

“Hm.” Anah slung my arm over her shoulder and pressed her other hand to my forehead. Her fingers were ice cold. Snow began to fall again. “I’m guessing you’re starting to overchill. You really need to make sure to move when it’s this cold outside.”

“I know,” I sighed, trying to pull away again. It was useless. “I’ve lived here long enough to know that.”

The first wave of dizziness hadn’t been too bad. This one was much worse. Why is the snow falling upside down? I wondered, swaying against Anah as I shook my head to clear it. I’m so cold.

“Can she walk?” Gilead asked, edging towards us with cautious steps.

“I’m not sure,” Anah replied. She gripped my hand tighter around her shoulders. “Myra, can you walk? You’re starting to freak me out.”

“I…” I want to throw up, I finished mentally. Or sleep. Either sounds good.

I blinked again and found myself on the ground, Anah and Gilead both bent over me.

Anah blew a strand of hair out of her face. “Phew, she’s awake.”

“Awake?” I frowned and tried to push myself up. Snow crunched beneath my palms. “I never went to sleep. Why am I on the ground?”

“You blacked out,” Gilead explained, tilting his head. “It was only for a few seconds, but it scared the hair off my sister.”

Again? I thought, recalling the peaceful sleep-like state I had fallen into after Amalek and Irad left. “Sorry.” My arms and legs wouldn’t comply as I struggled to get up. It was like they were weighed down with lead - either that or made of noodles. I groaned and flopped back down. My eyelids were every bit as heavy as my limbs. “I just need to rest for a bit.”

“Oh, no, don’t you dare,” Anah snapped, yanking my arms. “Stay awake, Myra, or gods help me I will slap you.”

I didn’t doubt it, but my sleepy mind also didn’t care. I wanted to say something to assure her, but… I was too… sleepy. It would take such an effort just to shape the word…

My mind drifted, then jerked back to reality as I felt hands beneath my shoulders. My body slid. I was being heaved upward.

“-get her home,” Gilead was saying. My arms were outstretched, draped over two pairs of shoulders. I tried to get my feet to work, to help them, but only managed a few clumsy steps.

“Home,” I mumbled, nodding.

I don’t remember much of the trip through the woods. All I knew was my spinning head, the delicious warmth growing in my belly, and the stumbling of my bearers - especially Gilead - as they dragged me past trees and over hillocks and through snowy glades while the snow started to fall again and clouds veiled the moon. Then I was sitting on a rock with Gilead propping me up as Anah ran ahead and some kind of warmth settled around me while we waited for something and then another person was there who lifted me up off the ground and carried me into a place of light and warmth and bubbling stew and fire and the sleep finally claimed my tired mind.

 

*puts hands on hips and surveys scene* Yeah, that definitely needs some work. Especially in the adverbs department. *frowns*


Ahem. Anyway, I believe that's it for this post! What are your thoughts? Do you like Anah? What type of ATOTB posts would you like to see more of? Is it a good idea to add those watercolor splotches in the middle of posts? How are you doing? How can I pray for you?


Until next time,

Take courage, pursue God, and smile while you still have teeth!

~Joelle

69 views9 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page