top of page

My Top 10 Resources for Young Writers

It’s easy to feel alone as a young writer, especially if you live in a small town or the country where there aren’t a lot of other people around. Chances are, you don’t know any other writers your age, at least not ones with a similar vision. Maybe you’re overwhelmed by the sheer size of the task ahead of you. Maybe you’re feeling lost and you don’t even know how to start.

If so, this post is for you.

I’ve been in all those places before. I’ve felt alone in this quest, I’ve felt overwhelmed, lost, confused. Trust me, I get it. And so do a lot of others out there. The good news is, you’re not alone. There are places to start. The task is doable. And these 10 resources should help you with that. Ready? Let’s get started. 🙂

10. Roll for Fantasy

M’kay, this website is an author’s dream come true. Not only does it have writing guides and royalty free music, but also a whole host of tools like a map maker, weapon designer, town builder, coin creator – even a language generator and more! Talk about helpful. XD (Just make sure you don’t spend too much time procrastinating there… ;P) The sister site, fantasynamegenerators.com, also has thousands of names to choose from if you need help with that. 😉 Make sure to check this one out!

9. Music

Seriously. I can’t tell you how many times I’ve had an idea because of a song I’ve been listening to. Sometimes songs will strike you as being written for your character, and those songs are the ones that tend to have the key to your character’s heart.

Another benefit of music is it tends to help some of us write faster/better/get more immersed in the scene. Especially if the song seems like it was written for your WIP. Even if you don’t like listening to songs while you write, have you tried ambiance? Try searching for something like “ocean ambiance” on Youtube Music, or “rainy day ambiance”. Trust me. This is great for when that writer’s block is really eating you up.

8. Hero Forge

This is so much fun that it’s almost more distracting from writing than the internet in general. XD I’m always on the lookout for character faceclaims, since I can’t draw very well and have a beastly time trying to find appropriate/similar faceclaims for characters that are free from copyright.

Look no further. This is a 3D model builder with hundreds of customizable options from fantasy creatures to clothing options to scars, poses, gear, colors, and more. It’s both complex and simple at once, although it’s not the most realistic thing on planet Earth. *shrugs* Here are some of my characters I’ve made if you want an idea – and these are from before I even knew how half of it worked. XD

7. Writer’s Vision

Looking to connect with other writers and get your own writing critiqued – along with monthly contests? Writer’s Vision is the place for you. It’s a growing community run by Kaytlin, Marissa, and Jaiden Phillips (the ladies over at Sisters Three, for those of you who don’t know). I enjoy the monthly challenge and have certainly gotten useful critique there!! Check it out. 🙂

6. Inkarnate

Ok, I don’t know about you, but map making is not exactly on my resume. The version on Roll for Fantasy is pretty great, but I forget to save it often enough that I struggle with keeping it updated. XD Inkarnate is much better (which is why it’s #6 and Roll for Fantasy is #10 XD). Not only does it have more features (including color, textures, cities, and more), but there’s still the possibility of upgrading if you want even more out of it. This is great for worldbuilding, though I don’t use it as much when I’m actually writing.

5. Abbie Emmons

Content Warning: Emmons tends to throw a few random cuss words in here and there that you’re not prepared for, though they’re typically not considered horrible curse words (I think she uses God’s name in vain a few times, though… heh). Aside from that, her videos offer some EXCELLENT writing advice, stemming from years of experience and gleaning from other famous books/movies. If you’re looking for teaching and would rather not read yet another article, she’s a good option.

4. Young Writer’s Guidebook

Dozens upon dozens of bite-sized tips/encouragements from published authors, both young and old, and words from some professionals in the area as well. Read one entry a day before you write. Trust me. This is AMAZING and I’m not even through the young authors yet. XD

3. Story Embers Resource Library

If you haven’t signed up for this, do so. Seriously. With everything from worldbuilding templates to encouraging novellas to an e-book of what readers want in a story (my personal favorite in there – oy it’s brilliant XD) – this is the place for the weary young writer. Check it out here!

2. Story Embers/Kingdom Pen

I know I just mentioned Story Embers, but there’s more to it than a resource library. There’s a top-notch article posted once a week, a swanky newsletter, and a forum where you can connect with hundreds of other young writers and do everything from role-playing to hashing out the technicalities of writing to submitting pieces for critique. Definitely a major stepping stone in my writing journey. Kingdom Pen is the same in many ways, considering that they have a blog and forum, but KP also hosts more contests and has a Youtube Channel. Both highly recommended!

1. The Young Writer’s Workshop

And my top resource for young writers is The Young Writer’s Workshop. This is a compilation of the best of the best, founded by bestselling authors Brett Harris (Do Hard Things) and Jaquelle Crowe (This Changes Everything). This fantabulous resource comes in two parts: the community (where hundreds of young writers like you gather to discuss anything under the planet except politics) and the content library (where Brett Harris, Jaquelle Crowe, Kara Swanson, Josiah DeGraaf, and others teach lessons on everything to do with writing – including (but not limited to) crafting, motivation, publishing, marketing, what-comes-next, and everything in between). If you want to jumpstart your writing journey, this is the place to go. Yes, it costs money, unlike everything else on this list. But it’s worth it. The friendships and education are priceless. Trust me. I spent the past year there and can honestly say the past year has been my most productive writing-wise yet. So if you are serious about becoming an author for a career… Ydubs is the place for you.

(Even if you can’t pay for it, Ydubs also has a free blog that you can check out here, and more resources here. :))

There you have it! These resources have given me pretty much all the writing knowledge I have apart from the experience of writing itself. Some are fun tools, others more serious and jampacked with brains. If you’re lost… give ’em a go!

Until next time,

Take courage, pursue God, and smile while you still have teeth!!

~Joelle

(P.S. Sorry for the poor quality of this post. I wasn’t feeling especially great today and my time was seriously lacking. Hope it helps despite the braindead work. XD)

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page