top of page

Short Story Contest!

Updated: Aug 7, 2023

Hey everyone! Yes, yes, I know I didn’t get to this Wednesday. Sorry. *wince* However, I am here now, and boy am I excited! I don’t have much time, so I’ll do a quick recap, then dive into the rules, prompts, and finally the prizes. 🙂


Let’s do this!


Recap

In case you missed it, I hit 105 followers a while back and celebrated it on Monday. (Which, BTW, ended up taking my slot for a review this month. I’m debating whether or not I want to post a review the first Monday of April or not – thoughts?) One way I’m celebrating is by hosting this contest. So read on, then share this post with any writers you know. Let’s see how big this can get!


The Rules

Pay attention. Your piece will probably be disqualified if you break these, though I might try to contact you to fix it if it’s minor. 😉

  1. 10-12 pt. font, easy to read (no scripts or displays, please), normal margins

  2. 500 word limit (yes, I know, that’s hard, but I don’t want to have to read twenty 3,000 entries XD)

  3. You may only submit one story/poem!!

  4. I want everyone to have the same amount of time to submit, so you must write a new story – no submissions of things you’ve already written, please. Submissions may or may not be based off of the prompts, your choice. 🙃

  5. Poetry is accepted! 500 word limit still. 😉

  6. No crude language, even if it’s “mild”. You may say a character “cursed”, but don’t use the actual words. Nothing explicitly sexual or steamy, and keep the violence at a minimum. No magic or demonic things, please. Any and all references to suicide, drugs, or alcohol should be cast in a negative light. All of your content should be appropriate for a 12 year old to read. If you fail to comply, you will be disqualified from the contest.

  7. Entries must be submitted by May 1st. I will announce the winners sometime during May.

  8. No editing after you submit! All edits, beta-reads, proofreads, etc. must be completed by May 1st.

  9. HAVE. FUN. This is a must. If you find yourself stressing out over it, no worries. There is no pressure whatsoever to enter. 😉

  10. P.S. Please don’t tell me if you plan on entering. 😉 I’m trying to be as unbiased as possible, and knowing people who enter could cloud my thinking. If you do say so, no problem, I’ll handle it, but please refrain. 😛

Submit via this form. If you have trouble with it, contact me via the “Contact” form on this site. 🙂 I am doing my best to be completely unbiased with this contest, so please don’t add any names or giveaways. 😉

The Prompts

Made with Canva

Credit to Chris Rallis


Made with Canva

Use one, two, all, or none of them. The choice is up to you! 🙂


The Prizes

At last we come to it. Why should you enter this contest? Well, not only will it make me happy and give you writing practice, but, if you win, you get these prizes!

First Place

  1. Publication of the story on my blog

  2. Guest article/author interview

  3. Customized character collage

  4. Critique of your story

  5. Lasting fame and bragging rights

Second place

  1. Publication of the story on my blog

  2. Guest article/author interview

  3. Critique of your story

  4. Lasting fame and bragging rights

third place

  1. Publication of the story on my blog

  2. Critique of your story

  3. Lasting fame and bragging rights


Wrap Up

Alright, time is running short, so I’m going to close with a hearty thank-you to everyone who enters. You have made my day and probably made me wrack my brains trying to figure out whose story is better. XD Disclaimer: you don’t have to take the prizes if you win but don’t want them. 😉


As always, thanks for spending your time here! Now go do something productive. 😛


Until we meet again,

Take courage, pursue God, and smile while you still have teeth!

~Joelle

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page