top of page

Story Day!!

Heh, I really love the protective-older-brother trope. Have you noticed? XD This is one of my favorite instances. Yes, it is short, but… *must write more* XD Enjoy!

The Prompt

He didn’t want to go out on such a night, but he had no choice.

The Story

He didn’t want to go out on such a night, but he had no choice. His sister was out there. Alone, without shelter or defense.

“I will be your protector,” the seven-year-old boy whispered to his baby sister, “when no one is there for you, I will be.”

“I will be your protector,” the ten-year-old whispered, staring into her wide eyes, “when you cannot protect yourself.”

“I will be your protector,” the twelve-year-old whispered, “when danger howls at every corner.” And she slept.

“I will be your protector,” the fourteen-year-old whispered now, as firelight lit the windows and screams shattered the night. A figure on horseback dashed past, sword raised and a battle cry on his lips. “When you are alone. When you are vulnerable. When I am afraid. I will be your protection.”

He reached for his father’s blade, tightening his grip on the hilt. The dog paddd up behind him as he opened the door and stepped into the chaos.

“I. Will. Be. Your. Protector.”

And he went forth.

Until next time,

Take courage, pursue God, and smile while you still have teeth!! 😀

~Joelle

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentários


bottom of page