top of page

Story Day!!

Hey guys! I want to apologize yet again for skipping out on y’all with Story Day last week. Heh heh. Anywhoodle, hopefully this post will make up for it. 🙂

I’ve been stocking up on my microfiction collection all week, which means I have several options to give you guys. However, I decided to go with one I wrote at least six months ago, one that’s insanely short. 😛 You’re welcome.

Prompt

Unfortunately, I can’t find the picture for this prompt. *fp* It was a picture of a girl sitting on a swing attached to a tree on a floating island in outer space, looking at earth in front of her. It was very… lonely.

Wishes

Desire.

Long.

Yearn.

They were the only words I could think of to describe this indescribable swirling in my soul. Desire for aromas to caress my nostrils. Longing for tastes to delight my tongue. Yearning for sounds to free my ears.

I was trapped. Alone in a desolate land where the only thing I could see was the tree to which my swing was attached and the stars dancing around me in the light of the twin moons. I was stuck, doomed to this life of silence.

After all, everyone else had to breathe to live.

But my air was the pure light of the stars, my oxygen the slowly changing cycle of the moons. I had loved it at first – loved the distance from the sirens and screams of the city, loved not having to torture my loungs with the smoke-filled skies, loved the peace and solitude.

And then I became lonely. I would admire the view of millions upon billions of brilliant stars and wish I had someone there to warm me. I would send myself swinging high and then pause, wishing I had someone to push me. I would draw a masterful picture in the dirt and wish I had someone to show.

Life is lonely now.

What would I give for those sirens and screams, the polluted air and the interruptions, if only I could have the people back.

But it’s too late.

I am lost.

Doomed.

All because my wish came true.

What do you think? Who is the main character? What was their wish? What are you going to write for the prompt? Thanks for reading!

Until next time,

Take courage, pursue God, and smile while you still have teeth!!

~Joelle

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page